Error processing SSI file
Error processing SSI file
Error processing SSI file
Error processing SSI file
Error processing SSI file
Error processing SSI file

MPA FAC Meetings Public Comments

  > MPA Federal Advisory Committee  > Meetings  > Public Comments

The MPA Federal Advisory Committee encourages individuals from across the nation to submit their comments, ideas, and recommendations regarding marine protected areas.

The term "Public Comment" refers to any unsolicited written or oral statement submitted by a member of the public to the MPA Federal Advisory Committee. These statements may be submitted via e-mail, fax, or mail to the Advisory Committee Designated Federal Officer located within the National MPA Center. There are also opportunities to provide oral public comments during public meetings of the MPA Advisory Committee. Each statement is considered a Public Comment and will be entered into the Advisory Committee record.

The following entries are the Public Comments given by individuals at the Federal Advisory Committee meetings held to date. All written comments received via e-mail, fax, mail, or during Committee meetings will be distributed to the Committtee. Oral comments given at the meeting will be included in the meeting minutes, and posted on this website. Comments are grouped by meeting date


November 2-4, 2010
Santa Barbara, California

Sarah Abramson, Heal the Bay
Kristy Birney, Environmental Defense Center
Jenn Eckerle, Natural Resources Defense Council
Greg Helms, Ocean Conservancy
Christine Fancher

April 20-22, 2010
Charleston, South Carolina

Mark Brown, Charter Boat Captain
Chris Verburg, Charleston Marine
Joey Prochazka, Charter Boat Captain
Russ Broward
Steve Little, Towboat U.S.
Wesley Covington, Recreational Fishing Alliance
Stuart Ballard
John Hoagland, Recreational Fisherman
Legaue Smith

September 9-11, 2009
Anchorage, Alaska

Bob Palolowski
Molly McCammon, Alaska Ocean Observing System
John Oswald, JOA Surveys, LLC
Tom Lakosh
Dave McMahon, Alaska Historic Preservation Office
Michel Ridgeway, Deep Ocean Science Institute
Paul McGregor, At-Sea Processors Association
Brenda Trefon, Kenaitze Indian Tribe
Steve McLain, The Nature Conservancy
Paul Kendall

April 6-8, 2004
Key Largo, Florida

Dan Clark, Cry of the Water
Stephanie Clark
Cheri Recchia, The Ocean Conservancy
Nancy Klingener, The Ocean Conservancy

November 17-19, 2003
San Mateo, California
Donna Parker
Jessica Hamilton, The Ocean Conservancy
Jesus Ruiz, USA National Scuba Program, YMCA
Cheri Recchia, The Ocean Conservancy
Kate Wing, Natural Resources Defense Council
Fleur O’Neill, Save Our Shores
Jamie Wine
Yasaman Golban
Bart Hall, Fred Hall & Associates/Consumer Fishing Shows
Jane DeLay
Bob Osborn, United Anglers of Southern California
Bob Strickland, United Anglers of Southern California
Roger Thomas, Golden Gate Fisherman’s Association

June 24-25, 2003
Washington, D.C.

Cheri Recchia, The Ocean Conservancy
Jay Johnson, Ball Janik, LLP
Kitty Simmonds, Western Pacific Fishery Management Council
Dr. Anthony Chatwin, The Nature Conservancy and MPA FAC candidate
Barbara Stevenson, MPA FAC candidate
Alex Stone, Reefkeeper International
Hanna Gillelan, Marine Conservation Biology Institute
Ryck Lydecker, Boat U.S.
Michael Doneley, Recreational Fishing Alliance
Eric Gilman, National Audubon Society and MPA FAC candidate