US Department of Commerce, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
MPA NOAA

MPA Federal Advisory Committee Membership

  > MPA Federal Advisory Committee  > Membership


Current Membership
The 20 MPA Federal Advisory Committee members include representatives from different geographic regions, including the Great Lakes and U.S. territories. They represent a wide variety of interests including resource management (state and tribal), natural and social sciences, industry (commercial and recreational fishing, oil and gas production, shipping and ports, and recreation and tourism) and conservation.  For a press release announcing the most recent appointment to the MPA FAC, click here

Chair
George J. Geiger (2009-2016)
Owner and Operator, "Chances Are" Charters
Sebastian, FL 32958
georgejgeiger@bellsouth.net

Vice-Chair
Della Scott-Ireton, Ph.D. (2009-2016)
Director, Northwest Region
Florida Public Archaeology Network
University of West Florida
Pensacola, FL 32591-2486
dscottireton@uwf.edu

Brian Baird (2014-2018)
Director, Ocean & Coastal Program
The Bay Institute and Aquarium of the Bay
Novato, CA  94949
brianbaird@gmail.com

Rick Bellavance (2014-2018)
Captain, Priority Fishing Charters
North Kingstown, RI  02852
rickbellavance@gmail.com

Mark Carr, Ph.D. (2014-2018)
Department of Ecology & Evolutional Biology
University of California
Santa Cruz, CA  95060
mhcarr@ucsc.edu

Gary Davis (2009-2016)
GEDavis & Associates
Westlake Village, VA 91361-1333
GEDavis@roadrunner.com
           
Martha Honey, Ph.D. (2014-2018)
Director
Center for Responsible Travel
Washington, D.C.  20005
mhoney@responsibletravel.org

John Jensen, Ph.D. (2011-2016)
Sea Education Association
Wakefield, RI 02879
jjensen@sea.edu
           
Stephen Kroll (2011-2016)
Great Lakes Divers & Sweetwater Charters
Rogers City, MI 49779
steve@greatlakesdivers.com
           
Stephanie Madsen (2014-2018)
Executive Director
At Sea Processors Association
Juneau, AK  99801
smadsen@atsea.org

Samantha Murray (2014-2018)
Director, Pacific Program
Ocean Conservancy
Portland, OR  97212
smurray@oceanconservancy.org

Ryan Orgera, Ph.D. (2014-2018)
Legislative Representative
Coastal States Organization
Washington, D.C.  20001
ryanorgera@gmail.com

Jason Patlis (2011-2016)
President and CEO
National Marine Sanctuary Foundation
Silver Spring, MD 20910
Email: Jason@nmsfocean.org

Catherine Reheis-Boyd (2011-2016)
CEO, Chief of Staff
Western States Petroleum Association
Sacramento, CA 95819
Email: cathy@wspa.org
           
Sarah Robinson, JD, SJD (2009-2016)
Managing Principal
Critical Inquiries Research
Brookline, MA 02446
sprobins@sprobins.net
           
Ervin Joe Schumacker (2011-2016)
Marine Resources Scientist, Quinault Indian Nation
Taholah, WA 98587
jschumacker@quinault.org

Peter Stauffer (2014-2018)
Senior Ocean Program Manager
Surfrider Roundation
Portland, OR  97202
pstauffer@surfrider.org

Trisha Kehaulani Watson (2014-2018)
Honua Consulting, Owner
Honolulu, HI  96816
watson@honuaconsulting.com

Stephen Welch (2011-2016)
Commercial fisherman
Hanover, MA 02339
Email: welchstephen@comcast.net

Margaret Williams (2014-2018)
Managing Director
World Wildlife Fund – Arctic Field Program
Anchorage, AK 99501
Margaret.williams@wwfus.org


Ex Officio Federal Representatives           

Department of Commerce           
Holly Bamford
Acting Assistant Secretary of Commerce
Department of Commerce
14th and Constitution Avenue, N.W.
Washington, DC  20230
Email: holly.bamford@noaa.gov

Designee:
TBD

Department of the Interior
TBD

Designee:
Cliff McCreedy
Marine Resource Mgmt Specialist
National Park Service (WASO)
Ocean and Coastal Resources Branch
Water Resources Division
1201 Eye Street, NW
11th Floor (2301)
Washington, D.C. 20005
Email: cliff_mccreedy@nps.gov

 

Department of Defense/Navy

Donald Schregardus
Dep. Assistant Secretary of the Navy Environment
Room BF986
1000 Navy Pentagon
Washington, DC 20350-1000
Email: donald.schregardus@navy.mil

 

Designee:
John Pierson
Office Deputy Assistant Secretary of the Navy – Environment
1000 Navy Pentagon, Room A674
Washington, DC 20350-1000
Email:   john.c.pierson@navy.mil

 

Department of Homeland Security

Rear Admiral Cari B. Thomas
Director of Response Policy
U.S. Coast Guard Headquarters
2100 2nd Street SW STOP 7363
Washington, D.C. 20593-0001           

Designee:
Steven M. Tucker
Assistant Division Chief: Marine Protected Species
U.S. Coast Guard
2100 Second Street, S.W.
Washington, DC 20593-0001
Email: Steven.M.Tucker@uscg.mil

 

U.S. Agency for International Development

Designee:
Dr. Barbara Best
Coastal Resources and Policy Advisor
Office of Natural Resources Management, Bureau for Economic Growth, Agriculture & Trade
Email: bbest@usaid.gov

 

National Science Foundation

Roxanne Nikolaus
Division of Ocean Sciences
4201 Wilson Blvd., Suite 725
Arlington, VA 22230
Email: rnikolau@nsf.gov

             
Department of Agriculture

Rick Swanson
USDA U.S. Forest Service
Watershed, Fish, Wildlife Staff
201 14th Street, SW, Stop 1121
Washington DC 20250-0003
Email: rswanson@fs.fed.us

 

Department of State

Jonathan Kelsey
Office of Ocean and Polar Affairs
Bureau of Oceans and International Environmental and Scientific Affairs
Harry S. Truman Building
2201 C Street, N.W.
Washington, DC 20520
Email: kelseyj@state.gov

             
Environmental Protection Agency

Dr. Brian Melzian
Oceanographer/Project Officer
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
National Health and Environmental Effects Research Laboratory
Atlantic Ecology Division
27 Tarzwell Drive
Narragansett, RI 02882
Email: melzian.brian@epa.gov

             
Designated Federal Official

Lauren Wenzel
National Marine Protected Area Center
NOAA Office of National Marine Sanctuaries
1305 East West Highway, 11356
Silver Spring, MD 20910
Email: lauren.wenzel@noaa.gov


(top)