US Department of Commerce, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
MPA NOAA

MPA Federal Advisory Committee Membership

  > MPA Federal Advisory Committee  > Membership


Seeking New Members for MPA Federal Advisory Committee
NOAA is seeking nominations to fill ten vacancies on the Marine Protected Areas Federal Advisory Committee for 2014. The Committee advises the Departments of Commerce and the Interior on the development and implementation of a national system of marine protected areas to connect and strengthen the nation's MPA programs. In particular, nominations for representatives of ocean industries, commercial and recreational fishing, Tribal and/or Pacific Islanders, State coastal or ocean agencies, natural and social science, cultural resource management, non-consumptive uses and conservation interests are sought by June 16, 2014 (deadline extended).

Nominations should provide: (1) The nominee's full name, title, institutional affiliation, and contact information; (2) the nominee's area(s) of expertise;(3) a short description of his/her qualifications relative to the kinds of advice being solicited, and (4) a resume or CV not to exceed four pages in length. Nominations may choose to include letters of support (no more than three) describing the nominee's qualifications and interest in serving on the Committee. Self-nominations are accepted, and emailed nominations are preferred.

Nominations should be sent to:

Nicole Capps
West Coast Region
Office of National Marine Sanctuaries
99 Pacific Street, Suite 100F
Monterey, CA, 93940
Nicole.capps@noaa.gov.

Click here for more details.

Current Membership
The 20 MPA Federal Advisory Committee members include representatives from different geographic regions, including the Great Lakes and U.S. territories. They represent a wide variety of interests including resource management (state, territory, and tribal), science (economics, anthropology, and marine sciences), policy (environmental and social), and industry (commercial and recreational fishing, oil and gas production, shipping and ports, and recreation and tourism).

 

MARINE PROTECTED AREAS FEDERAL ADVISORY COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP
NATIONAL OCEANIC AND ATMOSPHERIC ADMINISTRATION
U.S. DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE

April 2014

Chair
George J. Geiger (2009-2014)
Owner and Operator, "Chances Are" Charters
566 Ponoka Street
Sebastian, FL 32958
Email: georgejgeiger@bellsouth.net
John Jensen, Ph.D. (2011-2015
Sea Education Association
708 South Road
Wakefield, RI 02879
Email: jjensen@sea.edu
Vice-Chair
Della Scott-Ireton, Ph.D. (2009-2014)
Director, Northwest Region
Florida Public Archaeology Network
University of West Florida
207 East Main Street
PO Box 12486
Pensacola, FL 32591-2486
Email: dscottireton@uwf.edu
Gary Kania (2009-2014)
Vice President of Policy
The Congressional Sportsmen's Foundation
110 N. Carolina Ave., SE
Washington, DC 20003
Email: garyk@sportsmenslink.org
William Aila (2009-2014)
Chair
Hawaii Department of Land and Natural Resources
Kalanimoku Building
1151 Punchbowl Street
Honolulu, HI 96813
Email: ailaw001@hawaii.rr.com
Stephen Kroll (2011-2015)
Great Lakes Divers & Sweetwater Charters
5940 Beach Road
Rogers City, MI 49779
Email: steve@greatlikesdivers.com
David Blazer (2009-2014)
Maryland Port Administrator
401 E. Pratt Street, Ste. 1900
Baltimore, MD 21202
Email: dblazer@marylandports.com
Jason Patlis (2011-2015)
President and CEO
National Marine Sanctuary Foundation
8601 Georgia Avenue
Suite 501
Silver Spring, MD 20910
Email: Jason@nmsfocean.org
Priscilla Brooks, Ph.D. (2009-2014)
Director, Ocean Conservation Program
Conservation Law Foundation
62 Summer Street
Boston, MA
Email: pbrooks@clf.org
Catherine Reheis-Boyd (2011-2015)
CEO, Chief of Staff
Western States Petroleum Association
909 46th Street
Sacramento, CA 95819
Email: cathy@wspa.org
Felicia Coleman, Ph.D. (2009-2014)
Florida State University
Coastal and Marine Laboratory
3618 Highway 98
St. Teresa, FL 32358-2702
Email: coleman@bio.fsu.edu
Hans Radtke (2009-2014)
Natural Resource Economist
P.O. Box 244
Yachats, Oregon 97498
Email: hradtke@oregonvos.net
Gary Davis (2009-2014)
GEDavis & Associates
204 Los Padres Drive
Westlake Village, CA 91361-1333
Email: GEDavis@roadrunner.com
Michelle Ridgway (2009-2014)
Marine Environmental Consultant
Oceanus Alaska
P.O. Box 211470
Auke Bay, Alaska 99821
Email: mishridgway@gmail.com
John E. Frampton (2009-2014)
Director, South Carolina Department of Natural
Resources (retired)
P.O. Box 167
Columbia, SC 29202
Email: jframpton@fishwildlife.org
Sarah Robinson, JD, SJD (2009-2014)
Managing Principal
Critical Inquiries Research
1264 Beacon St, Suite 5
Brookline, MA 02446
Email: sprobins@sprobins.net
Karen Garrison (2009-2014)
Co-Director, Oceans Program
Natural Resources Defense Council
111 Sutter Street 20th Floor
San Francisco, CA 94104
Email: kgarrison@nrdc.org
Ervin Joe Schumacker (2011-2015)
Marine Resources Scientist
Quinault Indian Nation
P.O. Box 424
Taholah, WA 98587
Email: jschumacker@quinault.org
David Hyrenbach, Ph.D. (2009-2014)
Assistant Professor of Oceanography
Hawaii Pacific University
Marine Science Programs at Oceanic Institute
41-202 Kalaniana'ole Highway
Waimanalo, Hawai'i 96795
Email: khyrenbach@hpu.edu
Stephen Welch (2011-2015)
Commercial fisherman
76 Tower Hill Drive
Hanover, MA 02339
Email: welchstephen@comcast.net




Ex Officio Federal Representatives

 

Department of Commerce

 

Mark Schaefer
Assistant Secretary of Commerce
Department of Commerce
14th and Constitution Avenue, N.W.
Washington, DC 20230
Email: mark.schaefer@noaa.gov

Designee:

TBD


 

Department of the Interior

TBD

Designee:

Cliff McCreedy
Marine Resource Mgmt Specialist
National Park Service (WASO)
Ocean and Coastal Resources Branch
Water Resources Division
1201 Eye Street, NW
11th Floor (2301)
Washington, D.C. 20005

Email: cliff_mccreedy@nps.gov


 

Department of Defense/Navy

Donald Schregardus
Dep. Assistant Secretary of the Navy Environment
Room BF986
1000 Navy Pentagon
Washington, DC 20350-1000

Email: donald.schregardus@navy.mil


Designee:
Robin Fitch
Director, Marine Resources and At Sea Policy
Office Deputy Assistant Secretary of the Navy – Environment
1000 Navy Pentagon, Room A674
Washington, DC 20350-1000

Email: robin.fitch@navy.mil


 

Department of Homeland Security

Rear Admiral Cari B. Thomas
Director of Response Policy
U.S. Coast Guard Headquarters
2100 2nd Street SW STOP 7363
Washington, D.C. 20593-0001


Designee:
Steven M. Tucker
Assistant Division Chief: Marine Protected Species
U.S. Coast Guard
2100 Second Street, S.W.
Washington, DC 20593-0001

Email: Steven.M.Tucker@uscg.mil


 

U.S. Agency for International Development


Designee:
Dr. Barbara Best
Coastal Resources and Policy Advisor
Office of Natural Resources Management, Bureau for Economic Growth, Agriculture & Trade

Email: bbest@usaid.gov


 

National Science Foundation

Roxanne Nikolaus
Division of Ocean Sciences
4201 Wilson Blvd., Suite 725
Arlington, VA 22230

Email: rnikolau@nsf.gov


 


 

Department of Agriculture

Rick Swanson
USDA U.S. Forest Service
Watershed, Fish, Wildlife Staff
201 14th Street, SW, Stop 1121
Washington DC 20250-0003

Email: rswanson@fs.fed.us



 

Department of State

Jonathan Kelsey
Office of Ocean and Polar Affairs
Bureau of Oceans and International Environmental and Scientific Affairs
Harry S. Truman Building
2201 C Street, N.W.
Washington, DC 20520

Email: kelseyj@state.gov


 


 

Environmental Protection Agency

Dr. Brian Melzian
Oceanographer/Project Officer
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
National Health and Enviornmental Effects Research Laboratory
Atlantic Ecology Division
27 Tarzwell Drive
Narragansett, RI 02882

Email: melzian.brian@epa.gov


 


 

Designated Federal Official

Lauren Wenzel
NOAA Ocean Service
National Marine Protected Area Center
1305 East West Highway, 11356
Silver Spring, MD 20910

Email: lauren.wenzel@noaa.gov


 



(top)


About This Site | Disclaimer | Privacy Policy | Social Media | Site Map | Contact Us | Web Site Survey
Revised May 28, 2014 | Site jointly managed by the U.S. Department of Commerce / NOAA and the U.S. Department of the Interior
Web Site Owner: National Ocean Service