MPA Federal Advisory Committee Membership

Current Membership

The 20 MPA Federal Advisory Committee includes representatives from different geographic regions, including the Great Lakes and U.S. territories. They represent a wide variety of interests including resource management (state and tribal), natural and social sciences, industry (commercial and recreational fishing, oil and gas production, shipping and ports, and recreation and tourism) and conservation.

New Members – 2017-2021

John Anderson (ocean energy)
Senior Director, Permitting Policy and Environmental Affairs
American Wind Energy Association
Washington, DC  20017

John F. Ballotti (recreational fishing)
Torrance, CA 90501

Katy C. Bell Ph.D. (natural science)
Vice President, Ocean Exploration and Research
Ocean Exploration Trust
University of Rhode Island, Narragansett Campus
Narragansett, RI  02882

Alex F. Brylske, Ph.D. (non-consumptive uses)
Professor, Marine Science & Technology
Florida Keys Community College
Summerland Key, FL 33042

Jack Cox (commercial fishing)
Newport, NC 28570

Christopher M. Horton (recreational fishing)
Fisheries Program Director
Congressional Sportsmen’s Foundation
Washington, DC 20003

Jacque Hostler-Carmesin (tribal/indigenous)
Chief Executive Officer
Trinidad Rancheria
Trinidad, CA 95570
 
William J. McClintock, Ph.D. (social science)
Marine Science Institute
University of California, Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA  93106-6150

Lynn McClure (conservation)
Senior Director, Midwest
National Parks Conservation Association
Chicago, IL 60603

Christopher P. Morris (cultural resources)
Maritime Archeologist
New Jersey Historic Preservation Office
Trenton, NJ  08609

David S. Robinson (cultural resources)
David S. Robinson and Associates
Jamestown, RI  02835

Continuing Members (2014-2018)

Brian Baird (state agencies)
Director, Ocean & Coastal Program
The Bay Institute and Aquarium of the Bay
San Francisco, CA  94949
brianbaird@gmail.com

Mark Carr, Ph.D. (natural science)
Department of Ecology & Evolutional Biology
University of California
Santa Cruz, CA  95060
mhcarr@ucsc.edu

Martha Honey, Ph.D. (tourism)
Director
Center for Responsible Travel
Washington, D.C.  20005
mhoney@responsibletravel.org

Stephanie Madsen (commercial fishing)
Executive Director
At Sea Processors Association
Juneau, AK  99801
smadsen@atsea.org

Samantha Murray (conservation)
Samantha Murray Consulting, LLC
Portland, OR
samantha@samanthajmurray.com

Ryan Orgera, Ph.D. (social science)
George Washington University
Washington, D.C.  20001
rorgera@coastalstates.org

Peter Stauffer (non-consumptive uses)
Environmental Director
Surfrider Foundation
San Clemente, CA pstauffer@surfrider.org

Trisha Kehaulani Watson (tribal/indigenous)
Honua Consulting, Owner
Honolulu, HI  96816
watson@honuaconsulting.com

Margaret Williams (conservation)
Managing Director
World Wildlife Fund – Arctic Field Program
Anchorage, AK 99501
Margaret.williams@wwfus.org

Ex Officio Federal Representatives
Department of Commerce

TBD

Department of the Interior

TBD

Designee:
Cliff McCreedy
Marine Resource Mgmt Specialist
National Park Service (WASO)
Ocean and Coastal Resources Branch
Water Resources Division
1201 Eye Street, NW
11th Floor (2301)
Washington, D.C. 20005
cliff_mccreedy@nps.gov

Department of Defense/Navy

TBD

Designee: 
John Pierson
Office Deputy Assistant Secretary of the Navy – Environment
1000 Navy Pentagon, Room A674
Washington, DC 20350-1000
john.c.pierson@navy.mil

Department of Homeland Security

Rear Admiral Cari B. Thomas
Director of Response Policy
U.S. Coast Guard Headquarters
2100 2nd Street SW STOP 7363
Washington, D.C. 20593-0001
Designee: 
Steven M. Tucker
Assistant Division Chief: Marine Protected Species
U.S. Coast Guard 
2100 Second Street, S.W.
Washington, DC 20593-0001
Steven.M.Tucker@uscg.mil

U.S. Agency for International Development

Designee: 
Dr. Barbara Best
Coastal Resources and Policy Advisor
Office of Natural Resources Management, Bureau for Economic Growth, Agriculture & Trade
bbest@usaid.gov

National Science Foundation

Roxanne Nikolaus
Division of Ocean Sciences
4201 Wilson Blvd., Suite 725
Arlington, VA 22230 
rnikolau@nsf.gov

Department of Agriculture

Rick Swanson
USDA U.S. Forest Service
Watershed, Fish, Wildlife Staff
201 14th Street, SW, Stop 1121
Washington DC 20250-0003
rswanson@fs.fed.us

Department of State

Jonathan Kelsey
Office of Ocean and Polar Affairs
Bureau of Oceans and International Environmental and Scientific Affairs
Harry S. Truman Building 
2201 C Street, N.W.
Washington, DC 20520 
kelseyj@state.gov

Environmental Protection Agency

Dr. Brian Melzian
Oceanographer/Project Officer
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
National Health and Environmental Effects Research Laboratory
Atlantic Ecology Division
27 Tarzwell Drive
Narragansett, RI 02882
melzian.brian@epa.gov

Designated Federal Official

Lauren Wenzel 
National Marine Protected Area Center
NOAA Office of National Marine Sanctuaries
1305 East West Highway, 11356
Silver Spring, MD 20910
lauren.wenzel@noaa.gov