Webinars

Aerial view of Salt River Bay.
Aerial view of Salt River Bay. St. Croix, United States Virgin Islands. Credit: Mr. Sean Linehan, NOAA, NGS, Remote Sensing

The MPA Center and OCTO sponsor a monthly webinar series focused on building and strengthening MPA networks. Miss a recent webinar? See the archive.

Watch this site for additional information on upcoming MPA Center Webinars.


The ONo Index: Detecting novel ocean conditions for MPA management

Date/Time: Thursday, June 9, 1 pm US EDT / 10 am US PDT / 5 pm UTC

Speakers: Steven Mana‘oakamai Johnson of Arizona State University

A fundamental challenge in ocean conservation is translating the results of climate models into forms that managers and others can use to plan for the future. Using techniques from information theory, the Ocean Novelty (ONo) Index provides a simple and intuitive way to understand how climate change will alter key ocean biogeochemical variables. This measure can help MPA managers know what they need to prioritize in their planning and design policies and regulations that help their MPA keep pace with expected shifts in the ecosystem state. This webinar will share how the ONo Index is calculated and walk through an application for large MPAs. We will also be asking attendees to share their experiences and challenges using climate change data and scenarios in their MPA planning.

Co-sponsors: NOAA National MPA Center and OCTO (MPA News, OpenChannels, EBM Tools Network)

Register


Measuring progress towards effective MPAs – indicators and tools

Date/Time: Tuesday, June 21, 11 am US EDT / 8 am US PDT / 3 pm UTC / 4 pm BST / 5 pm CEST

Speakers: Felipe Paredes, Marine Vice Chair of the IUCN World Commission on Protected Areas (WCPA) and National Coordinator for MPAs, Ministry of Environment, Chile; Helen Klimmek, Programme Officer, UN Environment Programme World Conservation Monitoring Centre (UNEP-WCMC); and Sue Wells, Chair of the IUCN-WCPA MPA Management Effectiveness Task Force and Independent Consultant

The global target of protecting 30% of the ocean by 2030 involves not only designation of more areas but also equitable and effective management of designated sites. This webinar will cover recent activity related to assessing protected area management effectiveness (PAME) of MPAs, including: 1) IUCN WCPA’s priorities for work on effectiveness and implementation of MPAs and OECMs so that they achieve conservation outcomes; 2) work to establish indicators for measuring the effectiveness of protected areas and OECMs at the global level; and 3) a brief overview of PAME assessment tools in use and in development for MPAs. Presentations will be followed by a discussion on how the MPA community can come together, share experiences, and collaboratively accelerate the effective implementation of MPAs.

Co-sponsors: NOAA National MPA Center and OCTO (MPA News, OpenChannels, EBM Tools Network)

Register


Integrating Climate Change into Marine Protected Area (MPA) Management Plans

Date/Time: Wednesday, July 6, 1 pm US EDT / 10 am US PDT / 5 pm UTC

Speakers: Vincenzo Corelli of l'Institut national de la recherche scientifique

The highly dynamic shifts in species distributions and transformations of marine ecosystems due to climate change present significant management challenges to marine protected areas (MPAs). While climate change projections can be incorporated into the design process for new MPAs and MPA networks, adaptation is less clear for established MPAs, which were often not designed with climate change impacts in mind. This webinar will explore the results of an analysis that surveyed the integration of climate change measures in existing MPA management plans. The presenter will share what actions are already being taken by MPA managers to anticipate, adapt to, and mitigate the consequences of climate change and ensure the continued effectiveness of MPAs in a changing ocean. They will also discuss how their results create a community-sourced database of actions which other MPAs can draw upon.

Co-sponsors: NOAA National MPA Center and OCTO (MPA News, OpenChannels, EBM Tools Network)

Register