MPA Federal Advisory Committee Membership

Current Membership

The 20 MPA Federal Advisory Committee includes representatives from different geographic regions, including the Great Lakes and U.S. territories. They represent a wide variety of interests including resource management (state and tribal), natural and social sciences, industry (commercial and recreational fishing, oil and gas production, shipping and ports, and recreation and tourism) and conservation.

Designated Federal Official

Dr. Charles Wahle
National Marine Protected Area Center
NOAA Office of National Marine Sanctuaries
Monterey, CA  93940
charles.wahle@noaa.gov

Chair

Brian Baird (state agency, retired) (2014-2018)
Director, Ocean & Coastal Program
The Bay Institute and Aquarium of the Bay
San Francisco, CA 94949
brianbaird@gmail.com

Vice Chair

Katy C. Bell Ph.D. (natural science) (2017-2021)
Lead, Open Ocean Initiative, MIT Media Lab
Fellow, National Geographic Society
Narragansett, RI 02882
katycroffbell@gmail.com

Members

John Anderson (ocean energy) (2017-2021)
Senior Policy Advisor
Nossaman LLP
Washington, DC 20006
janderson@nossaman.com

John F. Ballotti (recreational fishing) (2017-2021)
Torrance, CA 90501
johnballotti1@gmail.com

Alex F. Brylske, Ph.D. (non-consumptive uses) (2017-2021)
Professor, Marine Science & Technology
Florida Keys Community College
Summerland Key, FL 33042
alex.brylske@fkcc.edu

Mark Carr, Ph.D. (natural science) (2014-2018)
Department of Ecology & Evolutional Biology
University of California
Santa Cruz, CA 95060
mhcarr@ucsc.edu

Jack Cox (commercial fishing) (2017-2021)
Newport, NC 28570
dayboat1965@gmail.com

Martha Honey, Ph.D. (tourism) (2014-2018)
Director
Center for Responsible Travel
Washington, D.C. 20005
mhoney@responsibletravel.org

Christopher M. Horton (recreational fishing) (2017-2021)
Fisheries Program Director
Congressional Sportsmen’s Foundation
Washington, DC 20003
chris@sportsmenslink.org

Jacque Hostler-Carmesin (tribal/indigenous) (2017-2021)
Chief Executive Officer 
Trinidad Rancheria 
Trinidad, CA 95570 
JHostler@trinidadrancheria.com 
 
Stephanie Madsen (commercial fishing) (2014-2018)
Executive Director
At Sea Processors Association
Juneau, AK 99801
smadsen@atsea.org

William J. McClintock, Ph.D. (social science) (2017-2021)
Marine Science Institute
University of California, Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-6150
will@ucsb.edu

Lynn McClure (conservation) (2017-2021)
Senior Director, Midwest
National Parks Conservation Association
Chicago, IL 60603
lmcclure@npca.org

Christopher P. Morris (cultural resources) (2017-2021)
Maritime Archeologist
New Jersey Historic Preservation Office
Trenton, NJ 08609

Samantha Murray, J.D. (conservation) (2017-2021)
Scripps Institution of Oceanography
University of California, San Diego
La Jolla, CA 92093-0202
smurray@ucsd.edu

Ryan Orgera, Ph.D. (social science) (2014-2018)
George Washington University
Washington, D.C. 20001
ryanorgera@gmail.com

David S. Robinson, R.P.A. (cultural resources) (2017-2021)
President and CEO
David S. Robinson and Associates, Inc.
Jamestown, RI 02835
dsrobinson@uri.edu

Peter Stauffer (non-consumptive uses) (2014-2018)
Environmental Director 
Surfrider Foundation 
San Clemente, CA 
pstauffer@surfrider.org

Trisha Kehaulani Watson, JD, PhD (tribal/indigenous) (2014-2018)
Honua Consulting, Owner and Senior Consultant
Honolulu, HI 96816
watson@honuaconsulting.com

Ex Officio Federal Representatives

Department of Commerce

Russell Callender, Ph.D.
Assistant Administrator for Oceans and Coasts
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration

Department of the Interior

TBD

Designee:
Cliff McCreedy
Marine Resource Mgmt Specialist
National Park Service (WASO)
Ocean and Coastal Resources Branch
Water Resources Division
1201 Eye Street, NW
11th Floor (2301)
Washington, D.C. 20005
cliff_mccreedy@nps.gov

Department of Defense/Navy

Designee:
John Pierson
Office Deputy Assistant Secretary of the Navy – Environment
1000 Navy Pentagon, Room A674
Washington, DC 20350-1000
john.c.pierson@navy.mil

Department of Homeland Security

Designee:
Steven M. Tucker
Assistant Division Chief: Marine Protected Species
U.S. Coast Guard
2100 Second Street, S.W.
Washington, DC 20593-0001
Steven.M.Tucker@uscg.mil

U.S. Agency for International Development

Designee:
Barbara Best
Coastal Resources and Policy Advisor
Office of Natural Resources Management, Bureau for Economic Growth, Agriculture & Trade
bbest@usaid.gov

National Science Foundation

Roxanne Nikolaus
Division of Ocean Sciences
4201 Wilson Blvd., Suite 725
Arlington, VA 22230
rnikolau@nsf.gov

Department of Agriculture

Rick Swanson
USDA U.S. Forest Service
Watershed, Fish, Wildlife Staff
201 14th Street, SW, Stop 1121
Washington DC 20250-0003
rswanson@fs.fed.us

Department of State

Jonathan Kelsey
Office of Ocean and Polar Affairs
Bureau of Oceans and International Environmental and Scientific Affairs
Harry S. Truman Building
2201 C Street, N.W.
Washington, DC 20520
kelseyj@state.gov

Environmental Protection Agency

Dr. Brian Melzian
Oceanographer/Project Officer
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
National Health and Environmental Effects Research Laboratory
Atlantic Ecology Division
27 Tarzwell Drive
Narragansett, RI 02882
melzian.brian@epa.gov