MPA Federal Advisory Committee Membership

Current Membership

The 20 MPA Federal Advisory Committee includes representatives from different geographic regions, including the Great Lakes and U.S. territories. They represent a wide variety of interests including resource management (state and tribal), natural and social sciences, industry (commercial and recreational fishing, oil and gas production, shipping and ports, and recreation and tourism) and conservation.

Designated Federal Officer

Dr. Charles Wahle
National Marine Protected Area Center
NOAA Office of National Marine Sanctuaries
Monterey, CA  93940
(831) 647-6460


Brian Baird (state agency, retired) (2014-2018)
Director, Ocean & Coastal Program
The Bay Institute and Aquarium of the Bay
San Francisco, CA 94949

Vice Chair

Katy C. Bell Ph.D. (natural science) (2017-2021)
Lead, Open Ocean Initiative, MIT Media Lab
Fellow, National Geographic Society
Narragansett, RI 02882


John Anderson (ocean energy) (2017-2021)
Senior Policy Advisor
Nossaman LLP
Washington, DC 20006

John F. Ballotti (recreational fishing) (2017-2021)
Torrance, CA 90501

Alex F. Brylske, Ph.D. (non-consumptive uses) (2017-2021)
Professor, Marine Science & Technology
Florida Keys Community College
Summerland Key, FL 33042

Mark Carr, Ph.D. (natural science) (2014-2018)
Department of Ecology & Evolutional Biology
University of California
Santa Cruz, CA 95060

Jack Cox (commercial fishing) (2017-2018) resigned
Newport, NC 28570

Martha Honey, Ph.D. (tourism) (2014-2018)
Center for Responsible Travel
Washington, D.C. 20005

Christopher M. Horton (recreational fishing) (2017-2021)
Fisheries Program Director
Congressional Sportsmen’s Foundation
Washington, DC 20003

Jacque Hostler-Carmesin (tribal/indigenous) (2017-2021)
Chief Executive Officer 
Trinidad Rancheria 
Trinidad, CA 95570 
Stephanie Madsen (commercial fishing) (2014-2018)
Executive Director
At Sea Processors Association
Juneau, AK 99801

William J. McClintock, Ph.D. (social science) (2017-2021)
Marine Science Institute
University of California, Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-6150

Lynn McClure (conservation) (2017-2021)
Senior Director, Midwest
National Parks Conservation Association
Chicago, IL 60603

Samantha Murray, J.D. (conservation) (2014-2018)
Scripps Institution of Oceanography
University of California, San Diego
La Jolla, CA 92093-0202

Ryan Orgera, Ph.D. (social science) (2014-2018)
George Washington University
Washington, D.C. 20001

David S. Robinson, R.P.A. (cultural resources) (2017-2021)
President and CEO
David S. Robinson and Associates, Inc.
Jamestown, RI 02835

Peter Stauffer (non-consumptive uses) (2014-2018)
Environmental Director 
Surfrider Foundation 
San Clemente, CA

Trisha Kehaulani Watson, JD, PhD (tribal/indigenous) (2014-2018)
Honua Consulting, Owner and Senior Consultant
Honolulu, HI 96816

Ex Officio Federal Representatives

Department of Commerce

Russell Callender, Ph.D.
Assistant Administrator for Oceans and Coasts
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration

Department of the Interior

Ex Officio Designee: TBD

National Park Service Liaison: TBD

National Fish and Wildlife Service Liaison:
Pete Leary
Marine Program Coordinator
National Wildlife Refuge System
U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service Headquarters
5275 Leesburg Pike
Falls Church, VA 22041-3803

Department of Defense/Navy

John Pierson
Office Deputy Assistant Secretary of the Navy – Environment
1000 Navy Pentagon, Room A674
Washington, DC 20350-1000

Department of Homeland Security

Steven M. Tucker
Assistant Division Chief: Marine Protected Species
U.S. Coast Guard
2100 Second Street, S.W.
Washington, DC 20593-0001

U.S. Agency for International Development

Barbara Best
Coastal Resources and Policy Advisor
Office of Natural Resources Management, Bureau for Economic Growth, Agriculture & Trade

National Science Foundation

Roxanne Nikolaus
Division of Ocean Sciences
4201 Wilson Blvd., Suite 725
Arlington, VA 22230

Department of Agriculture

Rick Swanson
USDA U.S. Forest Service
Watershed, Fish, Wildlife Staff
201 14th Street, SW, Stop 1121
Washington DC 20250-0003

Department of State

Marc Porter
Office of Ocean and Polar Affairs
Bureau of Oceans and International Environmental and Scientific Affairs
Harry S. Truman Building
2201 C Street, N.W.
Washington, DC 20520

Environmental Protection Agency

Dr. Brian Melzian
Oceanographer/Project Officer
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
National Health and Environmental Effects Research Laboratory
Atlantic Ecology Division
27 Tarzwell Drive
Narragansett, RI 02882